DOST - PCHRD and St. Luke’s College of Medicine Accepts Four New MS in Molecular Medicine Scholars

The Philippine Council of Health Research and Development of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST – PCHRD), in partnership with St. Luke’s Medical Center – College of Medicine-William H. Quasha Memorial (SLMCCM – WHQM), officially welcomed four new scholars into its MS in Molecular Medicine Program through a virtual Memorandum of Agreement signing event last 1 September, 2021.

The two-year program trains current medical practitioners and allied health professionals in applying microbiology in the clinical setting. MS in Molecular Medicine students are expected to learn about the latest biotechnologies, such as cell-based therapies, gene therapies, targeted therapies, biomarker technology, molecular diagnostics, pharmacogenomics, and personalized medicine, and with the DOST – PCHRD scholarship, the four scholars can also expect financial support for their academic and research endeavors, such as monthly stipends, attendance to international conventions, and publications to international journals.

The event was brief but meaningful for everyone involved.

SLMCCM – WHQM and DOST – PCHRD are beginning to see the fruits of their partnership, which began in 2018, as the first graduates of the program entered a time where their skills are truly sought after. “Without the seeds we have sown years ago, our country would be helpless against the enemy we are currently facing,” Dr. Jaime Montoya, Executive Director of DOST – PCHRD, said in his message.

Dr. Susan Pelea Nagtalon, the Dean of College of Medicine at St. Luke’s, however, acknowledges that there are only a few students in the program, but she promises that they are all focused and dedicated to finish the program. Quoting Robert Frost’s The Road Not Taken, Dr. Mark Pierre Dimamay, Director of the MS Molecular Medicine Program of SLMCCM – WHQM, echoed Dr. Pelea Nagtalon’s sentiment, but he assured the scholars that taking the road less travelled will not only make a difference in their lives but also the lives of others.

After the signing, Dr. Dimamay also encouraged the scholars to take the pandemic as a challenge and an opportunity to work on numerous projects and programs that will ultimately benefit the country.

The new MS in Molecular Medicine scholars are Raphael Joshua De Guzman, Celeste Aleena Fariñas, Patrick Ian Jacinto, and Liza Matuloy.