PHREB accredits to 31 research ethics committees

The Philippine Health Research Ethics Board (PHREB) awarded certificates of accreditation to 31 research ethics committees (RECs) during the 2020 Research Ethics Committee Online Awarding Ceremony last July 30, 2020. Among the awarded RECs, 15 RECs were newly accredited while the rest were renewals of previous accreditations. 

“Holding the awarding online for the first time is an indicator of how much the Department of Science and Technology (DOST), especially the Philippine Council for Health Research and Development (PCHRD) gives importance to ethical review and its promotion,” said former PHREB chair, now a PHREB member, Dr. Marita Reyes.

The system of REC accreditation, implemented by PHREB’s Committee on Standards and Accreditation (CSA), ensures that RECs adhere to universal principles of the protection of human participants in research.  This year’s accredited RECs include academic institutions, R&D institutes, hospitals, medical centers, health facilities, regional consortia, Department of Health-Center for Health Development, namely:





1.   Ateneo de Zamboanga University

2.   Compostela Valley State College

3.   DOH- Center for Health Development Cordillera Administrative Region

4.   Holy Angel University

5.   Mary Johnston Hospital

6.   Mindanao State University- General Santos City

7.   Region 1 Health Research and Development Consortium

8.   Trinity University of Asia

9.   Zamboanga Consortium for Health Research and Development

1.   Ateneo de Manila University

2.   Bataan General Hospital and Medical Center

3.   Cebu Institute of Medicine- Cebu Velez General Hospital

4.   Davao Regional Medical Center

5.   DOH Drug Treatment and Rehabilitation Center Dagupan

6.   Dr. Pablo O. Torre Memorial Hospital

7.   Eastern Visayas Health Research and Development Consortium

8.   Eastern Visayas Regional Medical Center

9.   Food and Nutrition Research Institute

10.   University of Mindanao

11.   University of Sto. Tomas College of Nursing

12.   University of Sto. Tomas College of Rehabilitation Science

13.   University of Immaculate Conception

1.   East Avenue Medical Center

2.   Metro Davao Medical and Research Center, Inc. Anda Riverview Medical Center, Inc.

3.   Philippine Children’s Medical Center

4.   San Juan de Dios Educational Foundation

5.   Single Joint Research Ethics Board

6.   St. Luke’s Medical Center

7.   St. Paul’s Hospital Iloilo

8.   The Medical City

9.   University of Sto. Tomas Hospital


As the health research community speeds up its race to look for health solutions against COVID-19, DOST-PCHRD Executive Director Dr. Jaime Montoya expressed his gratitude to the PHREB for its commitment to ensure that research adheres to the protocol amidst adjustments to the new normal in the conduct of health research activities. “Today, with a total of 104 PHREB accredited RECs, we have more allies who will protect the rights and welfare of human participants in research,” Dr. Montoya said in his message.

After the awarding of certificates, Chair of the PHREB CSA Dr. Sonia Bongala presented the updated PHREB Policies and Requirements for Accreditation of RECs. The 2020 PHREB Policies and Requirements for Accreditation of RECs is now available and can be downloaded through this link: