9 researchers awarded Most Ready to Publish Paper at 14th National Medical Writing Workshop

Nine out of the 37 researchers were awarded the “Most Ready to Publish Paper Award” during the 14th National Medical Writing Workshop and 7th Writeshop for Young Researchers on 6-7 August 2018 at the CAP John Hay Trade and Cultural Center, Baguio City.

Held in conjunction with the 12th Philippine National Health Research System Week, the award was given to participants whose research papers are deemed by the facilitators as well-written, organized, and have the greatest potential for publishing in peer reviewed journals.

Winners from this batch are as follows: Dr. Carl Froilan Leochico, Mr. Bienvinido Cabaro III, and Ms. Marian Caye Borreo of the University of the Philippines Manila (UPM), Dr. John Elmer Quilisadio of the Davao Regional Medical Center, Ms. Ma. Lynell Maniego of the Department of Science and Technology Food and Nutrition Research Institute (DOST-FNRI), Mr. Roy Bueconsejo of the Philippine Heart Center, Mr. Amadeus Fernando Pagente of the Department of Health (DOH), Ms. Ma. Veronica Aranda of the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), and Ms. Maria Ricci Gomez of the Research Institute for Tropical Medicine (RITM).

The Philippine Council for Health Research and Development, in partnership with the Philippine Association of Medical Journal Editors (PAMJE) and Asia Pacific Association of Medical Journal Editors (APAME), conducts the biannual writing workshop to help young researchers in health sciences acquire practical knowledge and writing skills in developing scientific articles for publication. To date, 88 of the Council’s writeshop participants have published their works in scholarly peer-reviewed journals.