PCHRD signs MOA with 8th Batch of MD-PhD Molecular Medicine scholars

MANILA – The 8th batch of MD-PhD Molecular Medicine Program scholars signed the Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with the Philippine Council for Health Research and Development (PCHRD) on 28 September 2017 at University of the Philippines Medical Alumni Society Hall, Ermita, Manila.

The scholars who are expected to complete the prescribed eight years of study are Arnold Dominic Barzaga, Mojisola Christine Olotu, Maria Rosewynn Anne Salvan, and Simaco Sison from University of the Philippines Manila (UPM), Leslie Faye Cando, Glenmarie Angelica Perias, and Lia Angela Reyes from University of the Philippines Diliman (UPD), Jeremy Ceriales from University of the Philippines Visayas – Miagao Campus (UPV Miagao), and Abraham Sianoya from University of the Philippines Los Baños (UPLB).

The MD-PhD Molecular Medicine Program aims to train aspiring physician-scientists for careers dedicated for the advancement of health through biomedical research.

In his message, PCHRD Executive Director Jaime Montoya expressed his full support to the program as it ensures best knowledge in merging two worlds – the research and clinical field. “This program opens the door for life sciences in the country because we are producing well-versed people not only in the basic sciences but also in research and clinical field,” Dr. Montoya emphasized.

Furthermore, Dr. Salvador Eugenio Caoili of UPM in his presentation, discussedscholars’ responsibilities and what are expected from them in pursuing the program. He stressed that it is the prime duty of every scholar and every mentor to be committed of their priorities in order to deliver significant roles for the community. Dr. Montoya and Dr. Caoili both reminded the scholars to seek guidance and be diligent enough throughout their course to prove their worth as scholars of Filipino people.

“There’s no question in spending for as long as we see the bright future of our young scientists,” Dr. Montoya said.

This program is a joint initiative of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST), through PCHRD, and UPM, through the College of Medicine.

Article by: Lemuel Basierto