JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 164

DOST gives full scholarship to 10 outstanding Molecular Medicine students

“We are proud to have the 3rd batch of scholars for the MD-PhD Program in Molecular Medicine,” said Department of Science and Technology (DOST) Undersecretary Fortunato de la Peña during the MD-PhD in Molecular Medicine Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) signing at the Hyatt Hotel Manila on 31 May 2012.

The MD-PhD program in Molecular Medicine is a scholarship grant under the DOST Accelerated Science and Technology Human Resource Development Program (ASTHRDP) which aims to develop human resource capacities to meet the biomedical research and development (R&D) needs of the country.

 “Through this program, the country’s global competitiveness and capability to innovate in health R&D will be improved. I commend our new batch of scholars who have chosen molecular medicine as their study course. You are exactly what the country needs right now, a doctor-scientist who will conduct biomedical research especially on emerging diseases,” said Undersecretary de la Peña in his message.

The scholars were Crizelda Jean Cruz, Sheriah Laine De Paz, Maria Isabel Idolor, Ana Joy Padua, Joyce Ann Robles, Ian Kim Tabios and Cherry Joy Tumampo from UP Diliman; Josept Mari Poblete and Jayson Trinchera of UP Manila and Angelo Sumalde of UP Los Baños.

All the scholars obtained at least 90% score in the National Medical Admission Test (NMAT) which is one of the requirements to qualify for the scholarship program. Six of the scholars graduated Magna Cum Laude, three Cum Laude and one Suma Cum Laude.

“They are the ‘cream of the crop,’ the best in terms of academic performances, and our future scientists and researchers that will lead our scientific communities in the development of effective drugs, vaccines, diagnostics and therapeutic agents for patient management and clinical care,” Undersecretary de la Peña said.